Používáním těchto stránek souhlasíte s ukládáním souborů cookies na vašem zařízení.
Fish pond Svět - Břilice - fish pond Káňov - Přeseka - fish pond Rožmberk - fish pond Hodějovický - Stará Hlína
Fish pond Svět (meaning World, original name Nevděk - Ingratitude) was the first big fish pond construction of Jakub Krčín of Jelčany. The name Svět was given only after shortlived connection and subsequent partition with the neighbouring pond Opatovický. The mighty dam managed to protect Třeboň against floodwaters for 380 years, but broke and flooded the town in 1890 after unusually high torrential rains.
The licence for construction of fish pond Břilický was granted by Jindřich and Petr of Rožmberk on the 1st September 1475 (Day of St. Jiljí). Village Břilice remained property of the Rožmberks till the die out of this noble family in 1611. After then the village became property of the Švamberks and after the Thirty-years war of the Schwarzenbergs.
Fish pond Káňov was designed and constructed by Štěpánek Netolický. Fish ponds designed by Štěpánek are not the largest ones, but surpass ponds diothers in terms of productivity and yield. Štěpánek feeded his rectly from the river Lužnice. For this reason he constructed artificial canal Zlatá stoka that serves as an axis of the whole fish pond network. The canal brings fresh and oxygen rich water from Lužnice river.
The Golden Canal is the main artery of the Třeboň region´s fish pond network. The initial part that brings water from the river Lužnice to the Opatovický mill near Třeboň was constructed already before 1367 by the Lords of Landštejn. Štěpánek Netolický used this existing connection and continued further north of Třeboň in the direction of Veselí nad Lužnicí, where after approximately 40 kilometres the canal merges again with Lužnice.
Jakub Krčín decided to divert part of river Lužnice into river Nežárka and to realise the original idea of Štěpánek Netolický to construct fish pond in the valley of river Lužnice. This is how two new closely related works were built - fish pond Rožmberk and almost 15 kilometres long artificial canal Nová řeka (the New River) that diverts part of river Lužnice to Nežárka.
The dam of fish pond Rožmberk is almost 2 kilometres long. It is a unique example of technical hydraulic engineering work and as such is protected as a Technical historical monument. But it is also an interesting natural site with alleys of huge oaks that are protected as Natural monument. The oaks form habitat for number of animal species (Spotted Woodpecker, Collared Flycatcher, Tawny Owl, Hermit Beetle, Longhorned Beetle). Because the dam is exposed to the south, it hosts number of interesting warm-requiring and xerophilic plants.
One of the final works during pond construction was construction of sluice. Fish pond Rožmberk has two sluices, both situated outside the dam. The smaller was built at the western end of the dam and the larger one on the eastern side. Originally it had 24 gates. An arch of wooden racks was constructed in front of the sluices to prevent fish from escaping out of the pond during floods.
The oldest written note about village Hlína comes from 1331, when it is mentioned to be in possession of knights of Rožmberk. In 1594 and 1604 the Rožmberks constructed two wooden bridges that were replaced at the end of the 18th century by stone ones. Both bridges remain till today and are protected as Technical historical monument.
Detailed information you can get on the information boards placed at each stop of the instructional trail.
The square surrounded by burgher houses with Renaissance and Baroque facades is the natural centre of the whole urban conservation area.
The southbohemian see.
Bridges into a fairytale.
The old wooden haylofts on the marshy Wet Meadows near Třeboň are a unique phenomenon of the Czech landscape.
In the arms of a water-fairy.
The unique technical water work – Golden Canal – was designed and built in the years 1506–1518 by Štěpánek Netolický and is an ...